Home » News » ED Reshuffles Cabinet for the second time since the election…

ED Reshuffles Cabinet for the second time since the election…

The President yesterday replaced the fired former Environment, Tourism and Hospitality Industry Minister Priscah Mupfumira, reshuffled four ministers and injected young youthful faces into Government, former deputy minister was elevated as part of the changes.

Former Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Deputy Minister Energy Mutodi has been fired and relieved off from his office and duties.

The President further divided into two, the Ministry of Local Government, Public Works and National Housing to create a new ministry named National Housing and Social Amenities. Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda announced the changes in a statement.

Former Industry and Commerce Minister Nqobizitha Mangaliso Ndlovu has been appointed Minister of the renamed Environment, Climate Change, Tourism and Hospitality Industry Ministry.

He has been the Acting Minister since August 8 when President Mnangagwa fired Mupfumira, who was then in remand prison following her arrest on a case of corruption charges involving US$95 million.

Dr Sekesai Irene Nzenza becomes Industry and Commerce Minister, while Professor Paul Mavima takes over the Ministry of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare.

Ambassador Cain Mathema moves from Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage to Primary and Secondary Education, replacing Prof Mavima.
Minister Kazembe Kazembe moves from Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services to Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage, replacing Minister Mathema.

Former ICT Deputy Minister Dr Jenfan Muswere has been promoted to Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services Minister.

Murehwa North Constituency MP Daniel Garwe has been appointed Minister of the new National Housing and Social Amenities portfolio.

The President also appointed new deputy ministers and reshuffled others.
Cde Marian Chombo becomes Deputy Minister of Local Government and Public Works.

Cde Dingimuzi Phuti has been appointed Deputy Minister of ICT, Postal and Courier Services.

Cde David Musabayana, a former Minister of State for Mashonaland East Province, is the new Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

The new Deputy Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation is Cde Tinoda Machakaire, who replaces Cde Yeukai Simbanegavi, who has been named Deputy Minister of National Housing and Social Amenities.

Cde Clemence Chiduwa has been appointed Deputy Minister of Finance and Economic Development.

Cde Raymore Machingura is the Deputy Minister of Higher and Tertiary Education, Innovation and Science and Technology Development.

Cde Jennifer Mhlanga is Deputy Minister of Women’s Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprise Development.

The Press Statement released yesterday……

The coming in of youthful faces follows hints by President Mnangagwa last week during an interface with ZANU-PF youths that he was going to appoint more young people into Government.

Ministers under the age of 40 already in Government include Minister Ndlovu (38), Youth Minister Kirsty Coventry (36) and Dr Muswere (38). The new young deputy ministers are Cde Phuti (39) and Cde Machakaire (36).

About Staff Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Check Also

Like Father Like Son: Youths Rally Behind The Late Matiza’s Son

It appears the son of the late transport minister Biggie Matiza, Batsirai has chosen to ...