Home » Entertainment » National Arts Council of Zimbabwe unveils 15th NAMA awards

National Arts Council of Zimbabwe unveils 15th NAMA awards

The National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) is pleased to announce the list of the nominees for the 15th Edition National Arts Merit Awards (NAMA) to be held in Harare on 13th February 2016 at the 7 Arts Theatre in Avondale.


In a bid to enhance entries, NACZ appointed a team of both individual and institutional Monitors who kept an eye on excelling artists throughout the year. These monitors submitted reports to NACZ, which reports were used by adjudicators together with the submitted entries. A panel of independent Adjudicators, guided by a set selection criteria, was appointed to preside over all the submissions. Nominees and winners were selected for each award category. For the 15th Edition of NAMA, 1 104 entries were submitted, from which the nominees were selected from.

Monitors were appointed on the basis of their knowledge of specific arts disciplines and that they were in constant touch with arts products from the genre of their expertise. Their role was to see to it that deserving and excelling work was considered by the adjudicators.

After the closing date, (30th November of each year) NACZ appointed independent team of adjudicators who assessed all entries. The general observation by adjudicators was that there was an increase of entries hence adjudicators had a wide range of product selection. Adjudicators also acknowledged the rise in entries from across the country which they applauded as very encouraging as it gave another dimension to the quality and style.

In addition, adjudicators said there was a tremendous improvement in the quality of music videos, a marked improvement in entries of exhibitions as both public and private galleries actively participated in NAMA for the purpose of promoting the artists that exhibited in their galleries as well as a general improvement in the quality of submitted entries. The college of adjudicators however, appealed to the arts sector to ensure the NAMA entries must be in formats that are compatible with current technology and also challenged the dance sector to be more creative and come up with new, exciting and unique works in dance. The eight NAMA categories that were adjudged are,

  • Dance
  • Film and Television
  • Literary Arts
  • Media
  • Music
  • Spoken Word
  • Theatre
  • Visual Arts
  • Promoters

NACZ therefore would like to thank all those that entered for the 15th Edition of NAMA for making it a success. It is the participation of the artists and stakeholders that make NAMA and indeed the whole arts activities a success.

NACZ launched the inaugural National Arts Merit Awards in 2002. NAMA is the forum where NACZ recognizes outstanding achievements within the arts sector. By rewarding excelling artists, NAMA stimulates more interest in the arts and raises the profile of the same. The awards are a means of encouraging creativity and excellence in the quality of the arts, making Zimbabwe a force to reckon with on the region and international arena.

In addition, the awards aim to inspire artists to strive for higher and original forms of creativity and provide an opportunity for arts disciplines to jointly market and publicize the arts locally, regionally and internationally.

About Simbarashe Nyanhanga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Check Also

Like Father Like Son: Youths Rally Behind The Late Matiza’s Son

It appears the son of the late transport minister Biggie Matiza, Batsirai has chosen to ...